Sunday, August 23, 2009

Understanding Chakras

A fabulous AMC (advanced course) with Tanu ma (Rishi Nitya Pragya jis wife) and 1500 other participants..A beautiful explanation of the chakras and associated emotions given in the AMC by Tanu ma..Trying to put together all that I can remember.

The chakra at the base of the spine is called the Muladhara chakra and is associated with enthusiasm as well as its opposite emotion which is not having the will to do anything (Jadta).
The second chakra is the Swadisthana chakra, a few inches above the base chakra associated with procreation as well as creativity.
The third chakra is the Manipura chakra in the navel region associated with emotions of generosity, will power, jealousy and desire
The fourth chakra is the Anahata (heart) chakra associated with fear and love.
The fifth is the Vishuddhi (throat) chakra associated with suffering (dukha) and gratitude, thats why whenever we are sad or full of gratitude, the throat area gets choked.
The sixth chakra is the Ajna chakra, between the eyebrows and is associated with emotions of anger as well as awareness.
The seventh chakra is the Sahasrara chakra at the top of the head associated with bliss.

These emotions are associated with sensations in the corresponding chakra region..

I had always wondered why we were asked to observe the sensations in the body during kriya and even otherwise and finally got my answer:

What is significant about the explanation about chakras and corresponding emotions is that when we observe positive emotions or the sensations in the corresponding chakra regions they have a tendency to increase and when we observe the negative emotions and corresponding sensations they are transformed into positive emotions.

So if you are angry, the moment you realize that you are angry and start observing the sensations in the area between the eyebrows, the anger subsides and awareness expands.

Also as we observe each chakra and corresponding sensations, the energy rises upwards opening up chakras from the base chakra to the sahasrara, and energizing the whole body in the process.


  1. That's quite useful!
    Happy Ganesh Chaturthi.

  2. JGD and wish you a very happy Ganesh Chaturthi too:)